The ISA-Bus

One blog to bind them all.

Recent games I couldn’t help noticing

Emperor: Rise of the Middle Kingdom was probably the last game I really followed, reading up the news, playing the demo as soon as it came out. Around 2005, my interest in games decreased, especially new ones. I still played games, but mostly older ones.

This may have changed my surfing habits as well, but I still read webcomics, and if people talked about a game on the web, I would notice. So now I wondered which were the games that I couldn’t help noticing since 2005.

Now, before you tell me that I missed this game or really should include that game, please note that this is not a list of The Most Important Games of the Last Seven Years or anything like that. These are the games that I, personally, couldn’t help noticing, and only those that aren’t part of a series like Dragon Quest.

2006

Shadow of the Colossus

I guess I came across it first on 4chan’s /wp/ in summer 2007. Screenshots from this game make excellent wallpapers. But it was hard to miss in any case, and is certainly a remarkable game. Would I want to play it? I guess not, but since it’s Playstation only, it’s out of my range anyway.

Virtual Villagers

Saw it somewhere, wanted to play it, played it, liked it. Wanted to write about it, but never did.

2007

BioShock

Due to my involvement with the Fallout series I was quite interested in this game. I still think that it’s the true Fallout 3, or at least could have been. But I never really felt the urge to play it, and I don’t think my computer could handle it anyway.

Portal

“The cake is a lie” is a meme. No way to avoid it. Just googling “there is no cake” immediately took me where I wanted. Lots of fan art too, so I know what Chell and the Companion Cube look like. On the other hand, I can’t say I ever understood what the game is all about.

2009

Interesting that there are more games from 2009 in this list than from any other year.

Angry Birds

Now this is one game that was positively impossible to miss. I don’t know what it’s about (I read it up once, but have forgotten in the meantime), but I come across the name a lot.

Minecraft

Another one that’s impossible to miss. Same as above.

Plants vs. Zombies

A friend of mine, who was quite addicted to it, told me about it, I don’t know if I would have noticed it otherwise. I played it for a while, but got bored.

Scribblenauts

There was this xkcd comic. The Large Hadron Collider was a topic at the time, some people actually feared that it might cause a black hole. That the game played on this ensured it some extra attention especially from nerdy audiences. I might not have heard about it otherwise.

2010

Amnesia: The Dark Descent

Came across this one on Scandinavia and the World. I had forgotten its name, but found that googling “scary Swedish game” was quite sufficient. Would I want to play it? Don’t think so.

Leave a Reply

